

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

William H. Bailey Gary S. Brewer April Cromer Kambrell H. Garvin Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr. William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III

Lewis Carter Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Roland Franklin Legal Counsel Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis

Adam M. Morgan

Travis A. Moore

Russell L. Ott

Marvin R. Pendarvis

Marvin "Mark" Smith

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, August 8, 2023 Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

 The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis on Tuesday, August 8, 2023, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. Three Subcommittee members (Representative Morgan; Representative Jones, Representative Magnuson, and Representative McCravy) were present for all or a portion of the meeting. One member was absent (Subcommittee Chair Tim McGinnis).

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Approval of Minutes

Approval of Minutes

I. Representative McCravy made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the Friday, July 21, 2023, meeting. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Garvin's motion to approve meeting minutes.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Jones	✓		
Rep. Magnuson			\checkmark
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. McCravy	\checkmark		
Rep. McGinnis			\checkmark

Discussion of Commission on Higher Education

- I. Representative Morgan calls the meeting to order.
- II. Agency director, Dr. Rusty Monhollon, and members of his executive team are present. Georges Tippens, Deputy Director and General Counsel; and Frank Myers, State Approving Agency Director, are sworn in to testify.
- III. Agency leadership presents information on the following internal offices and divisions:
 - Office of Internal Operations and Administration;
 - Office of Strategic Initiatives and Engagement; and
 - Office of Fiscal Affairs

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.